A Dragon’s Alphabet – Chapter 14 – N is for Nervous – #AtoZChallenge

Paul had been at the fort for just over a week when Greene felt it. It was a burning sensation within her throat that felt much more intense than it normally did. She was lying down in the fort while Paul went around and tried out different magical techniques. Her flames were coming, called by someone in a far off place. She turned her head up as suddenly flames erupted from her mouth causing Paul to jump.

“What was that for?” he asked anxiously.

Her eyes widened. “I have been called. There will be an assembly soon. Everyone will be there.” she stood up and began pacing.

“Do you have to go there?” he asked. “You look a little nervous.” Then he thought for a moment. “What happens if you get called during a bad time?”

“There aren’t usually bad times for dragons to breath fire, and if there are we can just send them up.” She nodded and looked straight at him. “Any dragon who doesn’t attend the assembly for a good reason will no longer be able to lay claim to any territory. I don’t have a good reason, so if I don’t go any dragon can come here and claim my fort. I’m sorry, but I’m going to have to go.”

“Oh.” he looked down. “When do you have to go?”

“Each assembly begins two dawns after it is called. I need to leave this evening at the latest. Then I will be gone for a few days. I have no idea how long this assembly will last. The last one lasted an entire day. It depends on why an assembly was declared.”

“That’s okay then.” he smiled. “I think I can handle myself here and I can even protect your fort until you get back.”

“And if this wizard comes back and finds you?”

“I’ll make sure he doesn’t find me, don’t you worry. You seem worried enough.”
She looked down. “Thank you.”

“It’s no problem.” he grinned. “I’m glad to help. Now go do what you need to do.”

She nodded before flying into the nearby field. She burned a chunk of grass and surrounded herself in flames. The small flames danced up her legs and tail until she was wreathed in flames. One thing she couldn’t allow was for any other dragon to know that she had been spending so much time with a human and enjoying it. They would be able to smell Paul on her.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started