One Week into April 2024 – #AtoZChallenge

I’m one week into my story, A Dragon’s Alphabet, and I feel like I’ve been doing pretty well. I have also been learning the best way to do this while posting each chapter. I was originally going to post all my chapters at my usual posting time which has been around 7 pm lately, however, I realized after the first day that it’s probably a good idea to post them earlier just so that people have more chances to read them. I guess it doesn’t matter as much after the first day because anyone who read the first chapter would come back to read future chapters if they were interested, but as someone who has been trying to be very consistent with her posting over the past few months, I want to try to make each post at around the same time each day. My times have varied a bit, though only by a few hours.

There’s a difference between posting once in the late morning and then in the early to mid-afternoon the next day and posting in the morning and then in the late evening the next day like what I’m doing now.

I guess that’s part of the reason for this post. This is around the normal time when I publish something on my blog, and while I have been posting almost daily there are other things I want to post about. This is kind of just a reflection on how my challenge has been going.

So far I’ve had a couple of people following along with my story. Thank you if you are one of these people. It means a lot to me that people are following along and enjoying my work. It’s been a fun project so far and I hope it will continue to be fun. The comments I’ve been getting on my posts have been motivating me to write and to get more of my writing out there. I’ve discovered that I like writing this way which will help when I share my next serialized story that won’t be connected to a challenge. I’m finding it a lot easier to revise each chapter before I post it and with a weekly posting schedule like I’ll be doing with other projects, I will have even more time per chapter.

I wrote most of this story in March so each chapter I’ve published just needed a quick revision before it got shared. Each chapter had a different amount of revision that was needed. Some of them needed a lot added. Others only needed to be run through a spellchecker to make sure I wasn’t about to post something riddled with typos. I was originally going to be revising all six chapters per week the Sunday before but that hasn’t been working out for me. The first week it was because it was Easter Sunday and I didn’t feel like doing any work. Sometimes I need days off you know. Most of my days these days contain at least a few hours of work with a max of around 12 hours of work which can be pretty exhausting. This week it was because I got distracted. Because of this, I’ve been revising each chapter the day it’s posted which I don’t think is the best way to do this. Eventually, there’s going to be a day when I don’t have time to revise before posting and I’ll have to postpone the chapter to the next day. I have a habit of letting things snowball in this way where I hold something off till the next day and then the next day’s work doesn’t get done and my work just piles up. This is a habit I’m working on breaking through journaling.

Anyway, last week was a weird week. I managed to check out other people’s blogs for the first two days, but then I got a cold and then I just got really tired because of a poor schedule. That’s also why I haven’t been replying to comments much. I feel bad because some of the other blogs in the challenge I was reading looked interesting. I guess this just means that I have a lot of blog posts to read. I’d better get working on that.

But first I must work on some of my writing goals. I’ll see everyone tomorrow for chapter 9 of A Dragon’s Alphabet.

Responses

  1. DB McNicol Avatar

    I’m one who is following along. I decided at the last minute to do the A-Z this year and committed to pantsing a serialized story using pre-selected words. It’s been a bit of a challenge, but I do have a few folks following along. I’m publishing around 7am ET but have written most posts ahead of time so it’s easy to schedule them. I had no outline, no characters, no setting – just the words and started writing. What a journey – I’m down to the last two letters (started Y today) so will be able to visit more blogs next week. Phew! Keep up the good word, your story is great!

    https://dbmcnicol.com/a-afterthought/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ecladragon Avatar

      Thank you. I’ve been enjoying your story as well though I’m a little behind. With my story I still have about 6 chapters left which I’ll get done soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started